What started it all

I’ve only gotten super serious about video games in the past five years, but I played casually for several years before that. Growing up, I would spend many nights watching my sister play games I would one day play on my own. I was captivated by these worlds in which you were the hero. I’m not really sure what made me play my first game, but I don’t regret it.

Sora

Kingdom Hearts first came out in 2002 but I played it a few years later when I was in middle school. Gameplay isn’t that difficult and it was always exciting to interact with some favorite Disney characters! The original characters like Sora and Riku have become some favorites that will be with me for the rest of my life. I remember taking turns playing with my best friend at the time as well as writing my own fan fiction that never saw the light of day. There have been so many years of making fun of Sora’s innocence and I’m still bitter that Donald still won’t heal me until after I use cure. But in all honesty, this series means so much to me and I’ve learned a lot from these characters.

riku

Riku is my favorite character in the series and his character development is one of the best I’ve been fortunate to witness. Riku is a teenager, he makes mistakes which makes him chooses the darkness within him. BIG MISTAKE but he owns up to this and he does everything in his power to make it up to Sora. His development goes even deeper but I don’t want to spoil anything if you haven’t played Dream Drop Distance. If Riku can beat the darkness within him, then I can beat mine.

Out of all the games, I have played, this series is the one that I have a crap ton of merch for. Mass Effect is a close second though. I’m talking about PJ bottoms, Sora’s necklace, a blanket, a snuggie and a beach towel! It’s my dream to one day cosplay as Xion since her character is so close to my heart and she’s my favorite female character. Maybe next year, but who knows.

Please don’t make me try to explain the plot, I’ve played this game series maybe ten times and I still don’t know what’s going on. All I know is pain and I can’t see because of my tears. I’m almost certain that the writers don’t even know what’s going on, but I can’t wait to play Kingdom Hearts III next year. Oh god, it’s finally happening! This game has an amazing soundtrack, fantastic characters, and I’m so grateful to experience this fantastic series. Kingdom Hearts always got me excited to play and that joy has spread to other games over the years. What game got you into video games? Let me know in the comments

One Comment Add yours

  1. art3mis305 says:

    Completely agree, one of my most favourite games of all time. Sora and Axel are my total favs and like you, I’m a bit obsessed too (wearing a keyblade necklace to work, along with a KH purse and the theme song as my ringtone, I do get weird looks from colleagues).

    Like

Leave a Reply

