Women’s Tune in Video Games

Music is a vital aspect of video games which can help enhance the mood-or at least let you know when an enemy is nearby.

Composers

Manaka Kataoka Β {Not Pictured}

This is a woman who has grown over the years with her work on the projects she’s been apart of with Nintendo. Her works include Animal Crossing: City Folks, Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks, Animal Crossing: New Leaf, and Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild! Personally, I haven’t played these games but the music that I’ve heard is soothing.

Yoko Shimomura

yoko-shimomura

She has composed the music for my favorite video game series: Kingdom Hearts! She is talented in how she compositions her work to resonate with so many emotions. This year was the first year of the Kingdom Hearts Concert and I hope it continues to more audiences. I couldn’t go because I don’t live in either California or New York. She has over 40 game soundtracks under her belt: Kingdom Hearts, Street Fighter II, Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam as well as Final Fantasy XV to name a few. She recently created her own Music Production Company called Midiplex. I find it adorable how her favorite composition is Dearly Beloved from Kingdom Hearts. It’s my favorite too!

Winifred Phillips

Winifred Phillips

She has won several awards for her video game compositions and I’m excited to play the games that she has worked her. Those titles include The LittleBig Planet series, God of War and Assassin’s Creed: Liberation. I’m a huge Assassin’s Creed fan so I’ll be jumping with excitement when I play this game. With her titles, she has been able to work for several AAA title companies like SEGA and Ubisoft. I wish her great success in everything that she does in the future.

Jessica Curry

Jessica Curry

Not only is she the composer for The Chinese Room company games, but she is also the co-founder of the company! Her work on Everybody’s Gone to Rapture earned her a BAFTA last year. She mainly does work for The Chinese Room and if they have a new game coming out, I honestly cannot wait to play it. Her music is so haunting that the games wouldn’t be as successful without her compositions.

Singers

Utada Hikaru

Utada

No song will get me super hyped quite like Simple and Clean does. Utada does the opening songs for the Kingdom Hearts series as well as having several albums out in Japan. I’m super excited to hear her do a new song for Kingdom Hearts III, I cannot wait!

Susan Calloway

susan calloway

She is the main singer with the Distant Worlds performers which do Final Fantasy concerts. She has done the English versions of several theme songs from the Final Fantasy series with such powerful vocals. She has a wonderful range but her strongest suit would be belting such as Answers from Final Fantasy XIV.

These are just a few dynamite women composing and singing many of the memorable songs in video games. Do you know of any other female composers that surprised you? What about singers? As always, let me know what you think in the comments!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    Everything’s Alright sung by Laura Shigihara is one of my favourite songs – she has such a lovely voice. It’s from To The Moon, another indie game you might like! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. cew4n says:

      I’ve heard that’s a good game to play! I’ll add it to my list!😊

      Like

      1. Kim says:

        It’s really good – but be prepared with plenty of tissues, because it tugs at the heartstrings in a big way.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. cew4n says:

        Oh goodness, I’m such a crybaby as is, haha. Thanks for the warning!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

