That Gaming Life? That’s too expensive!

empty wallet

Does anyone else feel like this when you have several games coming out that you enjoy? Because this is me almost every time a new game comes out. Gaming is not a cheap hobby, especially if you try to keep up with what comes out as soon as it drops. I have several friends who buy the latest game the same week it comes out while I tack it onto my Christmas or birthday list.

There are several new game systems that continuously come out a few years after the other that it’s so hard to keep up with everything. Does anyone else feel this way? I’m still playing catch-up with the PS3 games if I’m being honest. It wasn’t until 2013 when I finally had the extra funds to buy a PS3 and then I bought my PS4 in 2015 if I’m not mistaken. The Switch just came out early this year and it’s hard to justify spending $300 on a new game system when you don’t have the biggest budget, to begin with.

My point is that it’s ok if you are starting off in gaming, and I think it’s a little more gentle on your wallet to wait to buy some games. There’s so much pressure in the gaming community to be playing and reviewing the latest game, but not everyone is at that level. Pun intended. A new game nowadays costs around $60 which isn’t something to be taken lightly. I’ve tended to play older games which cost less as well as tending to buy used copies with much success of them working perfectly. What I hope sticks with those reading these rambles is that we take a moment before we judge someone who isn’t playing the newest game several days after it releases. Everyone has their own pace and budget which we should be grateful that they’re playing in the first place.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I usually buy my games second hand or wait until they’ve been out for a while so that the price drops before I get them. Unless it’s something I’ve been waiting to be released for ages! Also everyone ends up reviewing the same thing at the same time and it gets a bit overwhelming

    Liked by 1 person

    1. cew4n says:

      Exactly! I’m glad I’m not the only one that thinks this way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

